Visit our other sites

Ad header

Carrera Subway E

Author block

Jack Sexty's picture

Jack Sexty

Jack first became fascinated with e-bikes when an elderly gentleman breezed past him without a care in the world up a big old hill in North Wales - thus realising e-bikes are the real deal! Although he genuinely enjoys time trials and lung-busting climbs without assistance, Jack likes nothing more than cruising round town on an e-bike during his days off.   

13 comments

1 week 3 days ago

There is a review on here of the 2017 Ease E bike - https://ebiketips.road.cc/content/reviews/electric-city-bikes/giant-ease-e-504

1 week 3 days ago

I know the issue.  I'm only just under a 120kg after several years of trying to lose weight.  Giant as a brand tend to be the best for the heavier rider.  They do a £1399 ebike https://www.giant-bicycles.com/gb/ease-eplus-2-electric-bike Ease-E+ 2 which has a maximum rider weight of 136kg (and a maximum overall weight inc luggage of 150kg.  No idea what the bike is like specifically, but they generally get good reviews.  Even their cheap commuter bikes (Escape 3) @ £400 has a 136kg rider limit.

1 week 3 days ago

The carrera mountain bike is on sale at 899 and has a user weight limiyptbof 120kg which is pretty close. Nice bike too....

1 week 3 days ago

Hi Everyone I really would like to get cycling with an E bike but i'm 127Kg thats outside the user max for this bike. Please could someone recommend a suitable bike at a affordable price. Thank you.

 

1 week 4 days ago

A wee review after a few days would be nice. I am very tempted.

1 week 5 days ago

Thanks for the information SM. That's still not a bad weight considering the big tires and steel forks. The battery should be ok with the torque control system making the bike more efficient. A reviewer on the halfords site said he did a hilly 28 mile ride in Wales and still had battery left. I pick mine up tomorrow and will be using it to do a flattish 22 mile commute (11 each way), so I should make that comfortably. I decided on a ebike because I wanted to ride to work, but it just seemed too much either side of a 12 hour shift. Now instead of using the car, I can get some exercise without dreading it. I'm 50 this year and hopefully this will keep me healthy for longer. If we leave the EU, it would be good if we could set the speed restriction to 20mph like other countries, as I think this would encourage more people to commute by ebike. Cheers

1 week 5 days ago

Thanks for that, so light but not exceptional. Still, my wife’s Carreras crossfire had the Hesc system and she had a lot of fun with it. I hope you enjoy your new bike and have many happy miles on it. Ebike are fun. Did 35 miles this weekend ( two trips) on my Carrera folder and it was lovely. Halfords make good bikes, but I might have to go to rubble for a really light bike. Really appreciate you taking the trouble. Dermot.

1 week 5 days ago

Please ignore the complete lack of spelling in the last comment Blum 3

The picture doesn't seem to have uploaded.  So the details are:

Model: EBP30A093C1

36 V - 8.7Ah - 313.2Wh

1 week 5 days ago

Okay.  So I've weight the 16" frame.  Without the battery it does weight 18kg (18.1/18.2 on a set of electric luggage scales).  With the battery on it's 20.5kg or so.  Hope that helps.

I've attached a picture, but the battery I have is 313.2Wh

2 weeks 1 hour ago

Gents, I would also be interested in how much the bike weighs. The Standard bike is 14kg, so if they have managed to add only 4kg to make an ebike it would be impressive. Also, can you tell me what Ah the battery is? Halfords give two different ratings in their product description,  8.7Ah and 10.4Ah. They also claim it is 317Wh and 374Wh.  A bit confusing that. 

2 weeks 1 day ago

That’s great, there isn’t a single one in Northern Ireland to try and as I have to lift it onto a camper it matters. Current bike is 22 kg

2 weeks 2 days ago

Hi Dermotkelly.  I have one arriving in the next couple of days.  I'll weight it once it gets here and let you know.

3 weeks 10 hours ago

Halfords claim 18kg for the weight which would be great. Did you get a chance to weigh it?

Add comment

Log in or register to post comments